Selling Happiness

Image

Some people sell happiness while they don’t taste any of it

May be it is too much when I say now I’m just like they boy in the picture. I currently work in an office who offers people to go for a vacation in domestic or even international destination while I DO NOT taste any of it.

And this is all I feel.

Wake up early morning, working in a routine from Monday till Saturday, handling people who want to reserve a hotel room, help them to make a passport, visa and other travel documents is really suck. And facing the traffic jam in my way–go and go home–make it suck even more.

All I want is SUNDAY.

But what happened in Sunday is so so so so far from the meaning of HOLIDAY.

Okay, let’s skip it..

I was feeling like I want to give up for this job. As the circle is totally new for me and I feel little bit hard to adapt here. Everything is totally different with my world. I got much problem to handle every single thing here. But still, I think I can learn everything here by doing step by step. Let me give you a simple analogy; A baby doesn’t run when he’s born, he need to crawl, walk, and then run.

However, the behind-the-scene why I can work here is surprising enough. The job ‘came’ to me me even when I didn’t expect it. Then I think, leaving this job is so so so BAD decision. This is what make me stay in this job.

And the caption of the picture; Some people sell happiness while they don’t taste any of it.

It is like what happened to me.

I sell the holiday package while I don’t taste any of it.

For this one year.

And then I think, think, and think that this is just a stepping stone for me to chase something higher, to chase something greater than before, more than I ever get. As my wishlist this year is to travel a lot–I ever read an article about why we should travel a lot when we are young–to hike mountain, to go somewhere new–the place I never visit before, to do something new I never knew before, meeting a lot of person I never met before.

I’m very grateful to have a lot of friends who always give me support when I was really really down.

A friend of mine told me when I came to him with a gloomy feeling just because I felt like I couldn’t stand it anymore, He–who always speak cryptical–said to me

Jangan bawa-bawa perasaan ke urusan pekerjaan

I was thinking a lot that night. Thinking why I was so easily to break.

And he was right, and so were my other friend. Just because someone was not being nice to me doesn’t mean she/he can stop me to struggle here.

That is why I still staying in this place. The place where I write this post.

Satu tanggapan untuk “Selling Happiness

Tinggalkan komentar